Site Logo

hockey poll
Which of the following was the greatest captain?

hockey trivia
How many games were scheduled be played in the 2007 NHL regular season?

Art Ross Memorial Trophy

The Art Ross Memorial Trophy is awarded to the National Hockey League player with the most points scored at the end of the regular season. If two players finish the season with the same number of points, the trophy is awarded in the following manner: 1. Player with most goals; 2. Player with fewer games played; 3. Player scoring first goal of the season.

photo of NHL trophy

First Year Awarded:

The Art Ross trophy was first awarded following the 1947-48 NHL season.

In honour of:

The trophy is named in honour of Arthur Howie "Art" Ross (January 13, 1886-August 5, 1964), who was an ice hockey player, referee, coach, and manager.

Additional Notes:

Since the introduction of the Art Ross trophy, the following players have managed to win the award on more than one occassion: Wayne Gretzky (10 times), Gordie Howe, Mario Lemieux (6 times), Phil Esposito, Jaromir Jagr (5 times)

Over the course of two decades (1980-2001) only three different players won the award (Gretzky, Lemieux and Jagr). Jarome Iginla finally broke the streak winning the award in 2007.

Sidney Crosby is the youngest player to ever win the scoring title and Art Ross trophy at 19 years of age

The only defenseman to have ever won the award is Bobby Orr who accomplished this twice (1969/70, 1974/75)