Site Logo

Tell a Friend
Contact Me

visitor status
Not currently logged in

Log In  /  Register

         Why Join?
         Forgot Password?

hockey poll
Which of the following was the greatest captain?

hockey trivia
In which decade was Madison Square Garden opened

Calder Memorial Trophy

The Calder Memorial Trophy is presented annually to the best rookie as voted upon by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. The winner is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association at the end of the regular season.

photo of NHL trophy

First Year Awarded:

The Calder Trophy was first handed out after the 1932-33 nhl season to Carl Voss of the Detroit Red Wings. After the death of Frank Calder, the trophy was renamed the Calder Memorial Trophy.

In honour of:

Frank Calder, the president of the NHL from its from the very beginning in 1917 until he died in 1943.

Additional Notes:

To be eligible for the award, a player cannot have played more than 25 games in a single season, or played 6 games in any previous season for any major professional league. Due to this rule, although Wayne Gretzky posted 137 points in his nhl debut season, he could not recieve the award having played in the World Hockey Association (WHL) the previous season.