Site Logo

hockey poll
With the exception of Bobby Orr (who would have to win hands down), who is the next greatest Boston Bruin of all time?

hockey trivia
Who scored the very first ever recorded NHL goal?

Frank J. Selke Award

The Frank J. Selke Trophy is awarded annually to the National Hockey League forward who demonstrates the most skill in the defensive component of the game. The winner is selected by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association following the regular season.

photo of NHL trophy

First Year Awarded:

The first winner of the Frank J. Selke award was Bob Gainey of the Montreal Canadiens in 1977/78. Gainey actually won the award for the first four seasons it was handed out.

In honour of:

In honour of Frank J. Selke, former general manager of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Montreal Canadiens.

Additional Notes:

The only player to have ever won the Selke Trophy and Hart Trophy in the same season is Sergei Federov who accomplished this in the 1993/94 season.

Montreal Canadiens are the team with the most Selke trophy winners with 7 (Bob Gainey (4), Guy Carbonneau (3). The team with the most different players to win the award is Detroit Red Wings with 5 (Sergei Fedorov (2), Steve Yzerman, Kris Draper, and Pavel Datsyuk).