Site Logo

Tell a Friend
Contact Me

visitor status
Not currently logged in

Log In  /  Register

         Why Join?
         Forgot Password?

hockey poll
With the exception of Bobby Orr (who would have to win hands down), who is the next greatest Boston Bruin of all time?

hockey trivia
Which team did Conn Smythe become a part owner of in 1926/27?

Jack Adams Award

The Jack Adams Trophy recipient is selected annually by the National Hockey League Broadcasters' Association, it is given to the coach judged to have had the most influence in his team's success.

photo of NHL trophy

First Year Awarded:

The Jack Adams Trophy was awarded for the first time in 1974 to Fred Shero, the coach of the Philadelphia Flyers.

In honour of:

Commemorates the late Jack Adams, who was a hall of fame player for Toronto Maple Leafs, Vancouver Canucks and Ottawa senators as well as former coach and General Manager of the Detroit Red Wings.

Additional Notes:

3 coaches have managed to win the trophy twice in their career (Jacques Lemaire, Pat Quinn, and Scotty Bowman) and only one coach, Pat Burns has won the honour three times (with three different teams none the less - Montreal, Toronto and Boston).

The honour for team with the most Jack Adams awards winners is shared between the Flyers and Canadiens with four winners a peice.