Site Logo

hockey poll
Which of the following was the greatest captain?

hockey trivia
Which decade did Hockey Night in Canada make its debut?

James Norris Memorial Trophy

The James Norris Memorial Trophy is awarded to the NHL defenceman which demonstrates the greatest all-around ability through the course of the regular season. The winner is selected by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

photo of NHL trophy

First Year Awarded:


In honour of:

In honour of James Norris Sr., owner of the Detroit Red Wings franchise from 1932 until his death in 1952.

Additional Notes:

Their is a belief shared by many in the hockey world that the James Norris trophy is to oriented to offensive defenseman and that another award should be given out to the most talented defense minded defenseman.

Bobby Orr won the award for a record eight straight seasons between 1968 and 1975.

Other consistent winners of the award include Doug Harvey, Montreal Canadiens (7 times), Nicklas Lidstrom (6 times), Ray Borque (5 times).