Site Logo

Tell a Friend
Contact Me

visitor status
Not currently logged in

Log In  /  Register

         Why Join?
         Forgot Password?

hockey poll
Who is a better goalie?

hockey trivia
How many Stanley Cups have the Calgary Flames won?

Lady Byng Trophy

The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is presented annually to the National Hockey League player who has shown the best sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct along with performance in play, voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

photo of NHL trophy

First Year Awarded:

The recipient for the first ever Lady Byng Trophy was decided up by none other than Lady Byng herself who was an avid hockey fan. It was first presented to Frank Nighbor in 1925.

In honour of:

In honour of Lady Byng, wife of Viscount Byng of Vimy. Viscount Byng was a Vimy Ridge war hero as well as the Governor-General of Canada in 1925. Lord and Lady Byng were big sports fans, particularily interested in hockey. Lord Byng rarely missed an Ottawa Senators game and Lady Byng frequently accompanied him.

Additional Notes:

After having been awarded the trophy 7 times in 8 seasons Lady Byng decided to give Frank Boucher the original Lady Byng trophy to keep.

Four players have won both the Lady Byng Trophy and the Hart Memorial Trophy as league MVP in the same season: Bobby Hull (1964-65), Stan Mikita (1966-67 and 1967-68), Wayne Gretzky (1979-80) and Joe Sakic (2000-01).