Site Logo

hockey poll
Who is the more skilled player?

hockey trivia
Which organization did Forbes magazine name as the most valuable hockey franchise in the world in 2005?

Lester B. Pearson Award

The Lester B. Pearson Award is awarded to the National Hockey League's most outstanding player in the regular season, as judged by members of the NHL Players Association (NHLPA).

photo of NHL trophy

First Year Awarded:


In honour of:

In honour of Lester B. Pearson, a great Canadian Prime Minister from 1963-1968, winner of the 1957 Nobel Peace Prize, and a former player/coach for University of Toronto Varsity Blue hockey team.

Additional Notes:

Wayne Gretzky holds the honour of most Lester B. Pearson awards with a total of five.

The team that has been the home to the most winners is Pittsburgh Penguins with 7.